The Award in a nationwide scheme which offers you an opportunity to do something which benefits both you and others. It is open to everyone. You just need to be aged between 14 and 24

You can follow programmes at three levels:

  • Bronze (aged 14+)
  • Silver (aged 15+)
  • Gold (aged 16+)

What you have to do?

You achieve an Award by completing a personal programme of activities in four sections:

Volunteering: undertaking service to individuals or the community or for a non-profit making organisation.

Physical: improving in an area of sport, dance or fitness activities

Skills: developing practical and social skills and personal interests (not physical skills)

Expedition: planning, training for and completion of an adventurous journey in the UK or abroad

At Gold level, you must do an additional Residential section, which involves working and staying away from home doing a shared activity.

Past Events

Click here to view photos of the DofE Awards Evening 2016

Click here to view photos of the DofE Awards Evening 2015.